My Father’s SIde

MY FATHER’S SIDE

My father’s family were eight generation Texans. There is alot to say about the Republic of Texas, and it’s way to much to fill this blog. My Father pictured on the right, served ten years in the Corp (Marines) and then did twenty in the Air Force. He met my mother in Japan where they were married. I will say more about her later.

My Grandfather, pictured in the middle, was an Oil Driller. He had his own rig and company but after the Oil Embargo and sub sequential Saudi flood which dropped the price to $6 a barrel putting the “bust” in the saying, “Oil, its either Boom or Bust.” I value my memories of my Grandfather, one is about his strong character, as hard and tough as his jagged leathery callused skin, and the other is him saying to me, “Charley, you know the only good injun is a dead injun.” I would always reply, but grandpa you are injun, he would always say, “Yippers, but I am Texan and we killed all of them injuns.” It took me years, a Master’s in History, and life experiences to understand not only what he was saying but what he meant. True American values formed my childhood so I carry these into my adult life.

My Grandmother, the lady on the left, was born in a family of twelve other sisters, her family like her family before her, rode through the hard times, not only up to the Alamo, but through the Depression. While other fled the Dust-bowl, she wouldn’t have anything of it. They remained in and around Wichita Falls, as the generations had before. She was to me always, even in her finally years a women of dignity, I call you one of the two hundred, she lived in Oregon and was one of the first to make the decision to gather all of her family, say her goodbyes and have the choice to end all of her pain.

One wonders how generations of Americans can have such deep traditional values and history, many times at radical oppositions and still reconcile their differences when America is at stake. I guess I have to look at the movie “Grapes Of Wrath” a few more times or try to understand, Grant Wood’s “American Gothic.” To me and maybe to them it didn’t seem different, it was the way life was, and this was the moment or world as it was then as it is now.

All the things that can be passed down are what I appreciate the most about my father’s side of my family. Whether fighting for Texas, at the Alamo, or during the Civil War (I am a proud member of the Sons of Confederate Veterans) or struggling through hard times, its the traditional notions of America, values, family, country and the hard work I will always remember and cherish.

I know in my heart that we are not two separate parties running this country, and that we all want economic opportunities and a better life, thats what I stand for. We need an Unaffiliated U.S. Senator for Colorado and for America!

REMEMBER!

A Vote for me is NOT! A vote that is wasted, or a vote for the other party or even a protest vote, its a vote to really change America, this nation and Colorado!

About charleymiller2010

Charley Miller, UNAFFILIATED for the U.S. Senate in 2010 for Colorado, Stop the Insanity, Fix the Economic Mess & End the Free Rides
This entry was posted in charley miller 2010. Bookmark the permalink.